Lee's Summit R-7 School District
This is a picture of the LSR7 logo.

April 6, 2021 Election Results

According to unofficial election results, current Board President Ryan Murdock was reelected to the Board of Education after receiving 30.21% of the vote. Candidate Rodrick Sparks was also elected to the Board after receiving 24.34% of the vote.

Five candidates campaigned for two open seats currently held by Mr. Murdock and Board Member Julie Doane.

Of the other candidates:

  • Christine T. Bushyhead received 23.73% of the vote.
  • Michelle Surber received 17.42% of the vote.
  • Monte Helm received 3.70% of the vote.

The remaining 0.59% of the vote went to write-in candidates. There are three voting jurisdictions in the Lee’s Summit School District: Jackson County, Kansas City, Missouri and Cass County.

“I’d like to extend incoming board member Rodrick Sparks a warm welcome to the Board of Education and congratulate Board President Ryan Murdock on his reelection,” Superintendent David Buck said. “I look forward to working with the Board of Education to support and serve the Lee’s Summit R-7 Schools community.”