Lee's Summit R-7 School District
This is a picture of the LSR7 logo.

LSR7 Students Earn State Honors for Biliteracy

Across LSR7, students received 415 state awards for their excellence in learning 16 different languages. 

At the high school level, Missouri Department of Elementary & Secondary Education awarded 175 Missouri Seal of Biliteracy and the Distinguished Seal awards. On the elementary and middle school levels, the Pathway Awards program included 240 awards for students who either pursued opportunities to learn a second language or worked to maintain the native language spoken in the home.

Missouri Seal of Biliteracy
Graduated seniors excelled in their skills assessment, receiving a total of 137 Seals of Biliteracy and 38 Distinguished Seals of Biliteracy. The students demonstrated proficiency in English and languages that included Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Hindi, Russian, Serbian, Spanish and Urdu. They also demonstrated sociocultural competency through writing an essay prompt about using their language skills to connect with and improve their local and global communities. 

Biliteracy Pathway Awards
The state awarded 240 awards to students in kindergarten, third grade, sixth grade and eighth grade.

  • Cedar Creek Elementary: Three awards
  • Highland Park Elementary: Four awards
  • Mason Elementary: Eight awards
  • Prairie View Elementary: Three awards 
  • Richardson Elementary: Seven awards 
  • Lee’s Summit Elementary: Four awards
  • Meadow Lane Elementary: Four awards
  • Sunset Valley Elementary: Four awards
  • Underwood Elementary: Two awards
  • Greenwood Elementary: One awards
  • Hawthorn Hill Elementary: Six awards
  • Longview Farm Elementary: Five awards
  • Pleasant Lea Elementary: Five awards
  • Summit Pointe Elementary: Two awards
  • Bernard Campbell Middle School: 48 awards
  • Pleasant Lea Middle School: 78 awards
  • Summit Lakes Middle School: 56 awards

Their languages included American Sign Language, Arabic, Chinese, Dutch, French, German, Hebrew, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Russian, Spanish and Tagalog.