Lee's Summit R-7 School District
National Speech and Debate Qualifiers

LSR7 Students Qualify for National Speech and Debate Tournament

Twenty-three speech and debate students from the Lee’s Summit R-7 School District qualified to compete in the national tournament through the National Speech & Debate Association.

The virtual competition was June 15-19.

Lee’s Summit High School
Kaylee King, Program Oral Interpretation

Josh Willoughby, International Extemporaneous Speaking


Nate Smith is the speech and debate coach at LSHS.


Lee’s Summit North High School
Destiny Culter, Program Oral Interpretation

Bryce Ferguson, United States Extemporaneous Speaking

Abby Fry and Madi Norris, Public Forum Debate

Devyn Holt and Aiden Maschger, Public Forum Debate

David Stevens, Student Congress/House of Representatives


For LSN, Ben Jewell is the debate coach, and Rachel Russell is the speech coach.


Lee’s Summit West High School
Lauren Akason and Quinn Engel, Policy Debate

Peyton Brewer, International Extemporaneous Speaking

Chuckie Cooper, Mason Ekstrand, Annelise Oster, Alton Simpkins and Aidan Stutts, World Schools Debate

Joe Harris and Cameron Greenwell, Public Forum Debate

Abby Logan, Congressional Debate

Neily Randall, Lincoln-Douglas Debate

Ellie Russell, Congressional Debate

Noelle Wood, Humorous Interpretation


For LSW, Hope Bonner is the forensics coach, and Matt Good is the debate coach.