Lee's Summit R-7 School District

Summit Technology Academy students capture top awards at Engineering Design and Development/Biomedical Showcase and Competition

Students from Summit Technology Academy captured awards at the annual KCSTEM Alliance/Project Lead The Way, Engineering Design and Development (EDD) and Biomedical Innovations (BI) Showcase and Competition, held April 25 at Union Station.

Summit Technology Academy (STA) once again took home the top awards in both categories as well as placing several teams in the Top 10 of the competition. The instructor for the STA engineering design and development course is Dr. Paul M. Rutherford, with Dr. Kevin McCormick and Peggy Hinzman as the instructors for the STA biomedical innovations course.

This year’s event witnessed a gathering of 267 engineering students (114 teams) and 110 biomed students (95 teams) from around the Kansas City metropolitan area, both from Kansas and Missouri. Of the 114 engineering and 95 biomed teams, the most coveted selection is to be in the Top 10, then the Top 3 with the latter being awarded scholarship money (first-$2,500, second-$1,500 and third-$1,000) from each category.

Three Summit Technology Academy engineering teams and nine of the BI teams earned spots in the Top 10 with both an EDD and BI team taking the first-place award and another biomed team placing third. The competition centers around student teams maintaining an electronic portfolio referred to as The Innovation Portal throughout the school year. The engineering design teams focus on a project that adheres to the engineering design process whereas the biomed teams focus their efforts on pure scientific research protocols. There were 65 judges who look primarily for the teams’ thoroughness of documentation throughout their engineering design process or biomedical-focused scientific research.

First-place awardees in the Engineering Design and Development category were Trey Weeda, Tyler Wascom, Amanda Hill and Levi Madden, all LSNHS, for their project: The Omni-directional Wheelchair. This team was also a third-place awardee in the innovation competition and invited to the “Make It Real” entrepreneurial workshop on June 1.

First-place winners in the biomed category were Mikayla Odell and Jayci Goodwin, both LSWHS, for Cell Phone Emissions Effect on the Growth and Development of C. Elegans.

Third-place winners in biomed, including a $1,000 prize, were Alexandra Bower and Maddie Wiencek, both LSWHS. Their research title was Acetaminophen Poisoning in Escherichia Coli.

Other Top 10 awardees in engineering were Alexander Johnson, Corbin Copsey, Eli Boland and Logan Feld for Rail System Binder, all LSWHS students; Kyle Greenwald, Andy Huffman, Noah Bock and Noah Burton for Silent Alarm Device, all LSHS. This team was also invited to the “Make It Real” entrepreneurial workshop on June 1.

Additional Top 10 winners included Lindsey Allin, Collin Hansen and Isaac Lundergan, all LSHS, for their project “Artificial Silk Manufacturing”; Madeline James of LSNHS, Amber Worden of LSWHS and Emme Thurlo of LSWHS for their project “Activating Tryptophan in Yeast”; Annie Urhlaub of Odessa High School for her project “Preworkout Supplements”; Conner Berens of LSWHS and Jacob Bennet of William Chrisman for their project “Bacteria Factories”; Callie Miller of Pleasant Hill High School and Thomas Weems of LSHS for “The Effect of Vitamin C on Caterpillars”; Nathir Haji of LSWHS for “The Effect of Tetracycline on Bacteria”; and Emma Shipley of LSWHS for “The Effect of Blue Light on Yeast Cells.”